Facebook, Though

Am I the only one who is having obscene amounts of trouble with my Facebook page? And by that I mean… my content barely reaches its target audience. I don’t know if I need more likes, more updates, or just more activity from both ends altogether. I’m not sure how to breathe new life into it. So any tips would be great. I would rather not pump money into “advertisements”, because of all the things I would like to do to promote my work that is not at the top of my priority list.

Unrelated, does anyone remember Myspace?

7 thoughts on “Facebook, Though

  1. I have been going out of my way to like other business pages, and spending sometime each day commenting, sharing and liking some other post. Its has helped a little getting some new likes to the my pages. You may already be doing this, but thought I would throw my 2 cents in

    • I used to be really good about doing that, I’ve slacked off in the past few months because I haven’t spent a lot of time promoting in general. Now that I’m getting back in the saddle I will start doing that again – thanks for the refresher!

  2. Facebook seems like it’s been rather slow this month. Maybe it’s an end of summer blues type of thing with most people being on vacation. Funny thing, I asked if anyone remembered Livejournal yesterday.

    • That must be it. You would think that people would be around their computers more in the summer, but I guess not. 😉 I remember Livejournal! My only hope is that it doesn’t remember me.

  3. What I recall of Facebook vs. MySpace is being told that MySpace was for youth and Facebook for adults. Whatever that means, and however you define youth vs. adult. But if you have an aim to target youth more than adult audiences, possibly MySpace would be worth checking out. Possibly make your account and lurk for a while, see what you think of it?

    As to your existing Facebook page(s) I guess it’s up to us to come up with the razzle-dazzle we want to see. You can post items there that point to your blog, if you prefer, or use your blog to point to the Facebook page. Something that might concentrate viewers where you want them to be, or where your message is strongest.

    • I went back to MySpace for old time’s sake not too long ago and it’s set up to cater to almost solely to musicians now, it seems. Not quite as much fun or as easy to navigate as it was back in the early 2000’s! Nevertheless, I will have to strengthen my people skills, it seems. Finding that perfect blend of interacting and advertising is the most difficult!

Leave a Reply

