Guest Blog: Fan-girling, Benedict Cumberbatch, karma and my books by Susan Mac Nicol

Hello my darlings, you are in for a treat today! Today’s guest blogger is the lovely author Susan Mac Nicol. One of her topics today makes mention of actor Benedict Cumberbatch. If you don’t know who that is, take a moment to stare in wonder.

That is all.

That is all.

Enjoy!

———–

Cassandra by Starlight CVR_3_resized

I have to confess I’m usually a pretty level headed, non-emotional kinda gal. I’ve even been called a ‘cold hearted bitch’ or ‘the Ice Queen’ on occasion so you get the drift. Yet when a certain young man appeared on my television screen for the first time, I simply melted like the proverbial primordial ooze and left all common sense, a little dignity and any sexual inhibitions behind as I raced to meet him.  I know, I know…it’s a little crazy and a lot sad. But I can’t make excuses or apologies for my obsession so here I am, on Cy’s blog, bearing my fan girl soul.
My first huge crush was on Michael Landon in ‘Bonanza’. My bedroom door was plastered with pictures of him. I also had a scrap book solely for James Hunt, the racing car driver. But that was when I was about twelve or so – I think I can be excused from those little foibles.
But having said all of the above, without Benedict Cumberbatch coming into my life, I wouldn’t be where I am now. A published author with five books under her belt and others on their way. And this is how it all began. It’s a pretty karmic and epic journey…
Oh, and if you’re wondering what the link between me and Cy’s blog is as an LGBT author herself, it’s because I’ve branched out too into the MM Romance genre with a book of my own called ‘Stripped Bare’, released 22nd July. I have another couple of books on the way. I’ve found a niche here I’m very comfortable with and I just love writing it. And no, Benedict wasn’t the inspiration behind any of the characters in my gay romance books. ..although that has possibilities…*winks*

StrippedBare_cover

My debut novel in August 2012 was a book called ‘Cassandra By Starlight.’ I had the idea for this book, about a woman meeting a man under tragic circumstances, after I read about an incident in my local newspaper. Some idiot stood on a motorway bridge and threw a bucket of concrete onto the motorway below. The bucket hit a car, injuring a woman badly. I started thinking, ‘Imagine if that was someone jumping and they hit a car and the woman was rushed to hospital. Then the sexy older brother of the suicide jumper came to see how she was doing and va-va-voom! Instant attraction. And that’s how Cassie Wallace, a feisty, very attractive, sexy size 16 forty seven year old woman, meets the urbane and utterly delicious and wealthy Bennett Saville, actor and theatre owner, and who is ten years younger than her.
Of course, he wasn’t always Bennett Saville. He started off as someone else, a prominent business man in the hotel industry. But then I saw Benedict and I just knew I wanted one for my own. Of course, he’s a little unobtainable to the likes of me so I thought instead I’d create my own to have and to hold, to abuse, put in danger, make sure he had amazing sex and generally have a really good time with me- I mean with Cassie. The Cumberbatch inspired the character for this book without doubt. The idea of the story alone wasn’t enough to create the passion I had in writing it. The need to create the character of Bennett for my own personal use in my mind was the main catalyst.
So I wrote furiously for eight weeks and ended up with a 350 000 word trilogy. During my ‘research’ for Mr Cumberbatch’s character in the performing arts, I happened to ‘LinkIn’ with a man called Alex Baranowski. He’s a wonderful London based composer who worked with the producers of ‘Frankenstein’ at the National Theatre, the part Benedict played with such aplomb both as the doctor and the creature and which I’ve had the pleasure of seeing –twice.  Soon after Alex and I hooked up, I received an invite from a romance publishing company called Boroughs Publishing Group, to ‘LinkIn’. (I think they must have been linked in’ with Alex.) So I accepted of course, thinking that once I had the books finished, I’d send it over to them. It couldn’t do any harm, right? And bugger me if they didn’t like them and want to publish them. Only the second publisher I’d sent them to and they WANTED my work! And so that’s how my current status as a published author came to be.
And another kooky thing is –look at the picture I’ve attached. It’s not very good but hopefully you’ll get the gist. This horoscope appeared in a local newspaper the week before Boroughs told me they wanted my book, along with a picture of Benedict Cumberbatch in a crossword puzzle directly above the horoscope section. I took this a good omen and keep it with me in my purse. It’s my lucky rabbit’s foot.

HoroscopeH

I was interviewed by a couple of local newspapers who quoted the ‘Cumberbatch Connection’ and was also asked by a fellow Cumberbatch fan who works in local radio to go on her breakfast show. You can see one of the newspaper articles and listen to the podcasts of the radio interview at the links below.

http://www.susanmacnicol.com/books/

http://www.susanmacnicol.com/category/news-appearances/radio-interview-tracy-cooper/

Everything I do which mentions Benedict (which will include this blog post) I send to his publicist Karen for the ‘Cumberbatch Scrapbook’.  I don’t get a response (other than when she emailed me to congratulate me on my newspaper interviews) but she hasn’t put a restraining order on me yet so I think I’m all right to continue doing this. It must be a pretty big file by now
Right then. I hope you’ve enjoyed reading this post and it’s given you a little bit of light entertainment as you snigger at my idiosyncrasies or… feel guilty because you have experienced something similar…after all, they say authors just write about their own fantasies don’t they?

Bio

Sue Mac Nicol was born in Leeds, Yorkshire, in the United Kingdom. At the age of eight, her family moved to Johannesburg, South Africa where she stayed for nearly thirty years before arriving back in the UK in December 2000.

She has written nine novels, two novellas and a screen play since February 2012 so believes in keeping herself busy. She has found herself wanting to stay in the genre that is M/M romance so more can definitely be expected.

Sue is a member of Romance Writers of America and Romantic Novelists Association in the UK. She is also a member of a rather unique writing group, called the Talliston Writer’s Circle, which in itself has a story all of its own to tell and lives in the rural village of Bocking, in Essex, with her family.

Her plan is to keep writing as long as her muse sits upon her shoulder. Her dream is to one day make enough money to give up the day job and get that big old house in the English countryside overlooking a river, where she can write all day and continue to indulge her passion for telling stories.

http://www.boroughspublishinggroup.com/authors/susan-mac-nicol
Twitter – @SusanMacnicol7
Facebook http://www.facebook.com/susiemax77
http://www.susanmacnicol.com/blog/
Personal website – http://www.susanmacnicol.com

Linked In http://linkd.in/YFWZ40
Goodsreads   http://www.goodreads.com/Susiemax777

2 thoughts on “Guest Blog: Fan-girling, Benedict Cumberbatch, karma and my books by Susan Mac Nicol

  1. OMG What a wonderful post, Cy! You spoilt me rotten indeed.. it looks just terrific. Ermm, I’m so sorry about the rather compromising bondage picture on the Pinterest board. I swear it was for research purposes..*winks* Although I doubt we’ll get any complaints lol. Thanks so much for featuring me on your blog, it was a real hoot being here. 🙂

  2. Reblogged this on Author Susan Mac Nicol and commented:
    This is the wonderful blog of C N Faust and on which I have the privilege to appear. There is a lot of Benedict Cumberbatching going on here as well as introducing some details about my books you might not have known before. Have a read and see what you think. And and the rather sexy and compromising picture on my Pinterest board? I swear that was for research purposes.

Leave a Reply

