Amazon vs. Everyone Else

Hello my darlings,

 

 

a.com_logo_RGB VS.  peasants

 

I know, I know.

Well, I’ve just been doing some thinking, lately. And now that I have some reviews under my belt and some promotions have been done, I’m thinking that once the KDP select term ends for each of my books, I am going to end the enrollment and try (once more) to get my books listed elsewhere.

Now, mind you, I’m not going to go crazy with it on the first go-around. I’m only going to be on Amazon, B&N, Lulu, and my own personal website for the first few weeks. And here is why…

  1. Free promotions are nice, and definitely a great boost for reviews / readers, but their glimmer dies off quickly when the sales ‘bump’ that follows is minimal at best, and then you can only link your readers to Amazon for months.
  2. KDP completely excludes any potential readers who use Nook and Sony readers. I didn’t know there were so many of those until I started KDP select.
  3. Sure, that 70% profit is tempting. But selling them on several websites for the normal price ($2.99) instead of on just one is so much more beneficial all around.
  4. I want to feel like I have complete control over the distribution and selling of my books. Considering I am molding a publishing house, I believe this is best.

So come September, ALL of my currently released books will be available through the above venues. That’s not counting print distribution, which will also be increasing steadily.

As far as the eBook schedule, you can look forward to …

The Dragon’s Disciples – July 31st.

Baron of Blood – August 19th.

The Heretic Priest – September 12th.

Meanwhile, all 3 are STILL listed on Amazon for .99 cents each for the month of July. I’m trying really hard to save up for those limited edition hardcovers for a giveaway. What’s going to make them limited edition? Well … that’s another post entirely ….

Your most adored,

C.N.F.

6 thoughts on “Amazon vs. Everyone Else

Leave a Reply

