The Great Createspace Battle – and a Press Release

Hello my darlings,

So, I went onto Amazon to install the new covers for Dragon’s Disciples, I did not think it would be such a big deal.

Wrong.

I have had a straight FOUR DAY BATTLE with Createspace (and it wouldn’t have taken four days if they were more efficient with their cover review, it’s not like I’m uploading any new written material every time) because they refuse to be satisifed with my cover format. It’s been days of chopping, resizing, re-making altogether, repositiong, praying, crying, raging, and changing the (fucking DPI!) format. Finally, I thought I had won last night (I got the blasted thing to fit, thank the heavens!) and I realized that I had left the automatic author name addage (I had left the box checked “visible” to make certain my spine aligned correctly because I formatted the entire cover myself this time) and so then this afternoon I had to go back and fix it. Again.

So, in short, hopefully by tomorrow late afternoon / evening sometime, my files will have gone through review and be APPROVED, and the paperback can go back up for sale. I wanted to go in there and make a hardcover, too, but damn, this has taken a lot of energy and tears and I don’t know if I am up for it again before I have to (i.e. with Heretic Priest).

Not to mention that Goodreads has CRAZY INEFFICIENT service. I couldn’t change the cover for my book on their website (for some reason, though it has let me do so before) and then I had to email the librarians, who haven’t gotten back to me and it has been a week. On one hand, I am not surprised. On the other hand – come on, Goodreads.

In other news. The Hollow Living is going very well. I know I have been promising a sample chapter over and over (and I have been running behind on a lot of things, including my newsletter which I didn’t send out last month. Oops.) and it will happen once I stop having so much to do.

I am sorry for the rant, I just needed to get that off my chest. The only reason I have been so anal about the paperbacks at all is that I am going to start consigning them and The Heretic Priest at a store next year (hopefully) and I want them to be in pristine condition for selling.

Speaking of consigning – what do you guys think of paperback vs hardcover? Should I have some HC’s to sell? Your opinion is highly valued, and I would like to know if you could buy one over the other (without too much difference in the price or the size) which would you pick up?

One more moment – there is a press release now for The Dragon’s Disciples – check it out! 🙂

Here is the raw link: http://www.author-alliance.com/the-dragons-disciples-intrigue-power-struggles-and-a-new-breed-of-vampire/

Your most adored,

C.N.F.

3 thoughts on “The Great Createspace Battle – and a Press Release

  1. Createspace can be a massive pain. I’m dreading when I have to tangle with it again for my second book. With Goodreads, I thought it connected directly with your Amazon page and that would change it. Hope you get that fixed.

    Hardcovers are cool, but I think they’re expensive and might not sell as well as paperbacks. There’s an odd stigma with hardcovers that they’re overpriced and one simply has to wait for the paperback. Hardcovers tend to sell well for majorly established authors, but they don’t have a good track record with self-published authors from what I’ve been told.

    • I don’t know what Goodreads’ deal is – they need to get their life together. At least I feel like I have discovered Createspace’s secrets and hopefully The Heretic Priest’s cover(s) will be a one-upload deal.

      That was pretty much what I thought was the case with hardcovers. But I wasn’t sure if the very presence of a hardcover made one look more “professional” and less amateur?

      • It could give you a professional look. Didn’t think of that.

        Goodreads was just merged with Amazon, so that might be part of the problem. It’s really recent, so the system changes haven’t turned up yet.

Leave a Reply

