The New Face of Dragoloth, first day of KDP Select experiment

Hello my darlings,

So, as some of you know, I recently gave “The Heretic Priest” a brand new makeover the other day. Even though there were some kinks that I will have to smooth out before publication, I was QUITE pleased with the overall result. A trailer is in the making as we speak, I just (for some reason) have not had the time to mesh all of the components together. The bookmarks will not be horribly expensive to print and I am starting to get my promotional packages together for the summer, so all is going quite well.

That being said, I have started to make some changes in my marketing platform, as well as the overall look of the series.

I can’t tell you how many times I have edited The Dragon’s Disciples cover (three times, I believe, is the running count). I was never satisfied with how it looked. But once I edited “The Heretic Priest” I couldn’t get the idea of editing DD once more out of my head. So, with that being said, I took the re-designing of the cover as my cue to also re-vamp my entire angle for the series.

It comes to this: after editing the cover for DD, I decided to take it one (or two) steps further. Because having my book in Kobo was getting me nowhere (literally nowhere … they hadn’t published it, and it had been in the system for two weeks) and I was making EXACTLY $0.00 on NookPress… I decided to delete my Kobo account, take my book off of Nook shelves, and try the KDP select route.

I have heard so many KDP select stories, and some of them are horror stories while just as many are successful. So I have come to the conclusion that it is just as much the author as the vendor who is in charge of what kind of experience they have. I am going to try it for like – how long is it? 60 days? 90 days? Something like that. If I don’t experience any success, I can always drop it. Right now my concentration is moving on to the point where eBook marketing is JUST AS important, but not MORE important than actual print marketing. That being said, there is only a paperback version of The Dragon’s Disciples out now. But soon there will be a hardcover version. And of course, The Heretic Priest will have all three as well. I just want to experiment, see what works and what doesn’t.

I have some flexibility, it would be a shame for me to waste it.

So without further ado, here are the covers (side by side) for you to admire gaze upon. Please let me know what you think! Do they at least look like they belong in the same series, now?

Your most adored,

C.N.F.

newDDcover   workingcoveredited

7 thoughts on “The New Face of Dragoloth, first day of KDP Select experiment

  1. Not sure if it will help, but I’m doing KDP Select and a Goodreads Giveaway for this month. It’s all to drum up hype for the second book, but I’ve been able to keep a trickle of sales going.

    • I’m probably going to host a giveaway for The Heretic Priest, I didn’t think about doing one for The Dragon’s Disciples as well (although in retrospect that’s a good idea and I probably will). I have entered yours! Can’t wait to see the results.

      • I was talking about it yesterday on a post with people. A consensus was that doing it for the first book will get more people because many wouldn’t want to win the second book of a series. Kind of like getting free tickets to Empire Strikes Back before watching A New Hope. I’m not really a Star Wars nerd, but that’s the best example I could think of.

      • I am totally a Star Wars nerd, for the record. XD But that makes sense! I think I will set up a giveaway for DD in June, and then a giveaway for HP in July somewhere.

        By the by, I had an idea. And do with it what you will – but if you ever want to send some promotional material (bookmarks, posters, etc) to my mailbox I will be happy to spread them around on your behalf.

      • Sure. I can send you 10 CD’s with stickers, bookmarks, and business cards when I get some more packages set up. Just e-mail me your address. I was aiming to send out packages next week. Thanks.

        I’ve been having no luck with the local places to get my bookmarks, posters, and cards around. They’re not really author friendly around here. Even Starbucks wasn’t interested.

      • Sure thing, will do!

        And I’m sorry to hear that. It surprises me that Starbucks wasn’t very receptive – they usually are. It might just be the side of town you are on? If you have any artsy colleges / downtown areas, that’s the place to be.

      • I have a community college and a big college in the area. I’ll give them a shot again. Couldn’t hurt to see if my wife can pull it off. I tried it alone and it didn’t work at all.

Leave a Reply

