The Next Big Thing

Hello darlings,

I am still not entirely certain how these things work. But I am always flattered when I am nominated and this one looks like fun. So here it goes!

the-next-big-thing1

Thank you to Legends of Windemere for nominating me for this author-specific blog.

The Next Big Thing is part interview and part award, consisting of a series of questions about a writer’s latest work and how it came to be.

What is the working title of your book? The Heretic Priest (the Age of Waking Death #2)

What genre does your book fall under? Epic / gothic fantasy.

What is the one sentence synopsis of your book? The stakes get higher and allies break apart as the gods continue to pit their favourites against each other and watch Dragoloth fall.

Where did you get the idea for your book? When Pharun whirled into the room one day, sat down on my couch and told me that I should write down everything that had been going on in Dragoloth. But … seriously, all I do is write down what the characters tell me.

Who or what inspired you to write this book? As long as there is one other Pharun fangirl in the world, they are what inspires me.

How long did it take you to write the first draft of your manuscript?

About a year, perhaps a little over. I keep procrastinating because I’m “too busy” or “uninspired”. Hopefully that can be remedied soon.

What other books would you compare this story with in your genre?

Probably the old Ravenloft novels (shout out if you remember those).

Which actors would you choose to play your characters in a movie rendition?

There are way too many characters for this question. I am going to just hit the main ones.

Pharun – Jared Leto

Shrukian – Gerard Butler

Encarz – Ian McKellen

Olympia – Amy Lee

Felix –  Leonard diCaprio

 Will your book be self-published or represented by an agency? I will publish it through Amazon, but if an agency decides to express interest in picking up the series then I will not shed tears.

What else about your book might pique your reader’s interest?  You get to meet the child of Shrukian and Olympia – so there’s that. This book not only picks up right where the last one left off, but it is going to segue so nicely into some earth-shattering, world shaking drama. There will be blood, there will be sorrow – there will be so much amazing I cannot cram it into one paragraph. You’re just going to have to read it.

One thought on “The Next Big Thing

Leave a Reply

